8 January 2015: Just Me, My Hat, and I

My hat with a view of Prague Castle (Czech: Pražský hrad).

My hat with a view of Prague Castle (Czech: Pražský hrad).

Some items on the table with my lunch, including a ticket to the National Technical Museum, and a handout advertising a bible website that I got while walking in the park. Ignore the napkin, please.

Some items on the table with my lunch, including a ticket to the National Technical Museum, and a handout advertising a bible website that I got while walking in the park. Ignore the napkin, please.

It’s my first full day in Prague alone, so I walked a bit and found a cool island, went to a museum, went to a cafe, and then walked along the river. The cafe was wonderful. My quiche was delicious, and the people were some of the friendliest I have met in this city of stoic-on-the-outside people.

Walking along the river, I was too self-conscious to take a selfie – plus I don’t have a selfie stick, so out of the loop. But the view was beautiful, and just a landscape picture didn’t seem at all personal. So I put my hat in the picture.

That’s Prague Castle behind it, which is free to walk through, although the museums and cathedrals in it aren’t free. I went there a few days ago with Emily while she was still here with me (I miss her). We found our way to the entrance after following an Asian tour group for a bit. We took a picture with the guard, who is obligated to be stoic, but managed to make him half-smile by thanking him in broken Czech.

Enter the castle. Go to the bathroom. Oops, there is our slightly odd tour guide from the day before, do you think he recognizes us? And there are our Argentine (Argentinian? It’s quite the debate) sort-of-friends whom we met in Berlin. That’s unlikely. They did recognize us. They were on our ex-tour-guide’s tour. Whenever I greet people from central and south America, I forget about the cheek kisses, but they are refreshing and friendly, so I like them.

I hope they had fun on the tour! We certainly had fun trying to avoid being seen by our ex-tour-guide. I won’t post the creeper picture I have of him. Theme of the day was being goofy in the gorgeous castle!

Leave a Reply

